Friday 5 October 2012

2012 UK Bus Awards Shortlist

Following the recent publication of the Stagecoach press release listing Stagecoach companies shortlisted for the UK Bus Awards, we list below a complete list of all shortlisted entrants.

Top Express Operation, sponsored by Volvo Bus

Arriva the Shires - Green Line 757
Oxford Bus Company - the airline     
Scottish Citylink - Express Service Network 
Stagecoach East Scotland - Express City Connect

Top National Bus Depot, sponsored by Personal Group

Burnley, Transdev Blazefield
Crawley, Metrobus
Huddersfield, First West Yorkshire
Speke, Arriva North West

Top City Operator, sponsored by BAE Systems

Go North East
Nottingham City Transport
Stagecoach Manchester
Stagecoach Sheffield
Transdev Keighley & District

Top Shire Operator, sponsored by Ticketer

Oxford Bus Company
Reading Buses               
Stagecoach South West       
Thamesdown Transport       
Transdev Burnley & Pendle       

Top Independent Operator, sponsored by Scania

DRM of Bromyard   
Ensignbus, Thurrock         
Ipswich Buses
Newport Transport               
Perrymans, Berwick-upon-Tweed

Technical & Professional Awards

Environment Award, sponsored by Heathrow Airport

First Group - Small Changes, Big Difference  
Reading Buses - Hybrid Power
Stagecoach East Midlands & Lincolnshire County Council - Lincoln BioBuses
Stagecoach South West - Green Champions
Volvo Buses - 'The Volvo Hybrid Bus'

Innovation Award, sponsored by Alexander Dennis

Go North East - The Key Lifestyle 
Oxfordshire County Council, Oxford Bus Company and Stagecoach Oxford - Oxford SmartZone
Newport Transport - Unigo 
Translink - Safety Bus
Stagecoach Group/Scottish Citylink - Megabus Sleeper Service
West Yorkshire ITA (Metro) - Metroville

The Putting Passengers First Award

Go North East - Moving with our People
Transdev York - York Unibus, A Partnership for Progress
Stephensons of Essex - Breeze
Konectbus - Konectexpress 8

Making Buses A Better Choice: the Peter Huntley Memorial Award, sponsored by The TAS Partnership

Go-Ahead Group - The Key ITSO Smartcard 
First Hampshire & Dorset with Hampshire CC - Eclipse 
First Bristol and Partners - Greater Bristol Bus Network
Nottingham City Transport - Social Media & Technology
Stagecoach East - The Busway
TrentBarton - rapid 1, the car users' choice

The Eureka! Award for Marketing Initiatives, sponsored by CBS Outdoor

Arriva Yorkshire - We are Yorkshire
Bluestar - The Smarter Way to Pay-The Key
Ensign Bus Company & First Essex Buses - CollegeBUS
Go North East - Maximising the Benefits of Social Networking
Reading Buses - Jet Black is the New Black
Translink - Metro Smart Saturdays 

The Marketing Excellence Award

Trent Barton - MANGO-no cash, no fuss, no brainer
Metrobus – Horsham - Getting the Basics Right 
Go North East - The Key
Reays Coaches - Hopping Mad
Arriva the Shires - Green Line 757

The Bus and the Community Award

Arriva the Shires - Keech Hospice
First UK Bus North Region - Charity in the Community 
First Cymru - A Bus Company Working with its Local Community
First London - Greenford Library Bus
Network Warrington - Supporting the Community

Awards for Industry People

The Young Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport

Jeff Clayton (First Manchester)
Tom Morgan (TrentBarton)
Selina Pipe (Arriva Midlands)
Vicky Tomlinson (First West Yorkshire)

The Unsung Heroes Award, sponsored by Backhouse Jones

Ron Hayes (Brighton & Hove)
Patrick Hughes (National Express West Midlands)
Andrew Howard-Smith (Stagecoach Manchester)
Dennis Tomlinson (Transdev Burnley & Pendle)
The Chris Moyes Memorial Award for Top National Bus Driver, sponsored by Adelaide Insurance
Elaine Allitt (TrentBarton)
Ian Fraser (Stagecoach East Scotland)
Allan Gilmour (TrentBarton)
Sharon Harry (Oxford Bus)
Vanessa Knowling (Yellow Buses Bournemouth)
John Russell (Metrobus)
Mick Silverwood (Transdev Keighley & District)
Matthew Stacey (Cardiff Bus)

The Engineer of the Year Award

Mike Butt (Stagecoach West)
Russell Cato (Arriva the Shires)
John Trubshaw (Arriva Midlands)
Cliff Ward (Arriva the Shires)
Andrew Wilson (First Manchester)

Transport Hero Award for the 2012 Games

Nominations for this award close on 5 October following the completion of the Games contracts, and a short-list will be announced later in the month.

London Awards

Transport for London Award for London Bus Garage of the Year

Barking, Stagecoach East London
Cricklewood, Metroline
Merton, London General
Orpington, Metrobus
Putney, London General

Luke Rees-Pulley Charitable Trust Award for Top London Bus Driver

Peter Bennett, Arriva London
Rui Branco, Abellio London
Scott Horney, Go-Ahead London
Roy Lambe, Go-Ahead London
Angela Spragg, Quality Line
Kamya Ssemakadde, London United
Peter Varley, Stagecoach London
Warren Wills, London United

Awards without short-lists

Local Authority Project of the Year

There is no short-list for this award. The winner will be announced on 20 November.

UK Bus Operator of the Year, sponsored by Belmont International and QBE Insurance

The winner for this award will be chosen from the winners of the Top City, Top Shire and Top Independent categories, and the winner will be announced on 20 November.

Award for Services to the Bus Industry

There is no short-list for this award. The winner will be announced on 20 November.

Further details about the UUK Bus Awards can be found on